vendredi 20 mai 2016

Sentinel-1A spots potential oil slick from missing EgyptAir plane








ESA - Sentinel-1 Mission logo.

20 May 2016

The Sentinel-1A radar satellite has detected a potential oil slick in the eastern Mediterranean Sea – in the same area where EgyptAir flight MS804 disappeared early yesterday morning on its way from Paris to Cairo.

The image was acquired by Sentinel-1A yesterday at 16:00 GMT (18:00 CEST).

Sentinel-1A detects slick

ESA has given information related to the image to the relevant authorities to support the search operations.

Since the plane disappeared, ESA and experts have been scrutinising satellite data to see if anything could be found to indicate wreckage or oil floating on the sea.

According to the satellite image, the slick was at 33°32' N / 29°13' E – about 40 km southeast of the last known location of the aircraft. The slick is about 2 km long.

There is, however, no guarantee that the slick is from the missing aircraft.

A second image from this morning at 04:00 GMT (06:00 CEST) shows that the slick has drifted by about 5 km.

Closer view of slick

The Sentinel-2A satellite will pass above the same area on 22 May, and experts will continue to study the images returned for further clues.

Both Sentinel satellites were launched as part of Europe’s environmental monitoring Copernicus programme, led by the European Commission.

Sentinel-1A satellite

ESA and the European Commission have released this information in parallel. 

Related links:

Sentinel-1: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Observing_the_Earth/Copernicus/Sentinel-1

Sentinel data access & technical information: https://sentinel.esa.int/web/sentinel/home

OceanDataLab: https://www.oceandatalab.com/

Copernicus Programme: http://copernicus.eu/

Images: contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data [2016], processed by ESA & Sentinel-1 Mission Performance Centre/Text, Credit: ESA.

Best regards, Orbiter.ch

Aucun commentaire:

Enregistrer un commentaire